Recurring

TWW Workshop

Online workshop

The TWW workshops are free and open to the public. Writers of all genres and anyone who appreciates the written word are welcome. Work is submitted a week prior to the workshop (Tuesday), and a workshop notice is emailed (Thursday/Friday). The pieces to be critiqued can then be downloaded and read. We critique a maximum […]

Margaret Juhae Lee

City Lights 261 Columbus Ave., San Francisco, CA, United States

City Lights and Melville House celebrate the publication of Starry Field: A Memoir of Lost History By Margaret Juhae Lee Published by Melville House Margaret Juhae Lee appears at City Lights in-person to celebrate the launch of her new book! A poignant memoir for readers who love Pachinko and The Return by journalist Margaret Juhae […]

James Kaplan

LIVE - City Lights Books - Virtual

James Kaplan discusses his new book 3 Shades of Blue: Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, and the Lost Empire of Cool Published by Penguin Press The myth of the ’60s depends on the 1950s being the “before times” of conformity, segregation, straightness—The Lonely Crowd and The Organization Man. This all carries some truth, but […]

Solid Objects @ City Lights

City Lights 261 Columbus Ave., San Francisco, CA, United States

Solid Objects @ City Lights City Lights celebrates Solid Objects Press with readings by Elizabeth Robinson, Rodrigo Toscano, and Laura Mullen SOLID OBJECTS is an independent publisher of fine fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction. It was founded in 2010 and is based in New York City. It’s editors are Lisa Lubasch and Max Winter. Elizabeth […]

Rita Bullwinkel and Friends

City Lights 261 Columbus Ave., San Francisco, CA, United States

  Headshot published by Viking Press Music by Theresa Wong Readings by Venita Blackburn, Jennifer Cheng, Ashley Nelson Levy Discussion with Rita Bullwinkel and Oscar Villalon An electrifying debut novel from an “unusually gifted writer” (Lorrie Moore) about the radical intimacy of physical competition An unexpected tragedy at a community pool. A family’s unrelenting expectation […]

Be the Sea Clara Ward

Avid Reader 617 2nd Street, Davis, CA, United States

Experience the joy of the sea with Clara Ward on March 14th and celebrate the release  of their new book: Be the Sea. This event will take place at Avid Reader from 6:30 - 7:30. Ward will be joined in converstaion by Betsy Miller About the Author Clara Ward lives in Silicon Valley on the […]

Joyce Carol Oates in conversation with Steve Wasserman

LIVE - City Lights Books - Virtual

Joyce Carol Oates in conversation with Steve Wasserman celebrating the publication of Joyce Carol Oates: Letters to a Biographer Edited by Greg Johnson Published by Akashic Books This rich compilation of Joyce Carol Oates’s letters across four decades displays her warmth and generosity, her droll and sometimes wicked sense of humor, her phenomenal energy, and […]

Recurring

TWW Workshop

Online workshop

The TWW workshops are free and open to the public. Writers of all genres and anyone who appreciates the written word are welcome. Work is submitted a week prior to the workshop (Tuesday), and a workshop notice is emailed (Thursday/Friday). The pieces to be critiqued can then be downloaded and read. We critique a maximum […]

Maurice Carlos Ruffin

LIVE - City Lights Books - Virtual

Maurice Carlos Ruffin reads from his new novel The American Daughters Published by One World Ady, a curious, sharp-witted girl, and her fierce mother, Sanite, are inseparable. Enslaved to a businessman in the French Quarter of New Orleans, the pair spend their days dreaming of a loving future and reminiscing about their family’s rebellious and […]

Wayne Koestenbaum

LIVE - City Lights Books - Virtual

Wayne Koestenbaum reads from Stubble Archipelago Published by Semiotext(e) Wild new adventures in word-infatuated flânerie from a celebrated literary provocateur. This book of thirty-six poetic bulletins by the humiliation-advice-giver Wayne Koestenbaum will teach you how to cruise, how to dream, how to decode a crowded consciousness, how to find nuggets of satisfaction in unaccustomed corners, […]